Quantifying the cost of trying to concieve

1 Feb

Now… this point is supposed to be funny. It is not accurate. It is no where near accurate but here is a breakdown. For the sake of keeping things simple all Ovulation Predictor Kits will be marked at $1.50(to find a common ground between the Cheapies and the Expensive ones), All Pregnancy tests will be at $5.00 (to find a common ground between the Cheapies and the Expensive ones).  The Acupuncture cost and the Traditional Chinese Medicine Herbs are the exact Amount I paid. As I have said, these are just estimates. How much money have you spent on TTC? Are you surprised?

Cost Per Unit Amount
Pre-TTC Appointment 119 1 119
August  OPKs 1.5 7 10.5
August  Pregnancy Tests 5 4 20
September  OKPs 1.5 7 10.5
September  Pregnancy Tests 6 5 30
October OPKs 1.5 19 28.5
October Pregnancy Tests 5 9 45
October Acupuncture Consult 80 1 80
October Acupuncture 60 3 180
November OPKs 1.5 32 48 2 times a day
November Pregnancy Tests 5 3 15
November Acupuncture 60 4 240
November TCM Herbs 10 4 40
December OPKs 1.5 52 78 4 times a day
December Pregnancy Test 5 4 20
December Acupuncture 60 4 240
December TCM Herbs 10 4 40
January OPKS 1.5 5 7.5
January Fertility Monitor 219 1 219
January Acupuncture 60 3 180
January TCM 10 1 10
January Fertility Appointment 225 1 225 Estimate
Miscellaneous
Prenatal 90 day Supply, One Daily 15.99 2 31.98
Zinc 50 Pills, One daily 6.29 2.4 15.096
Milk Thistle 100 Pills, Three Daily 14.99 4 59.96
Muscinex In September 10.99 1 10.99
B6, One Pill Daily 6.29 1 6.29 Buy one, get one free
Evening Prim Rose 11.29 1 11.29 Buy one, get one free
2021.61  TOTAL  
16 Responses to “Quantifying the cost of trying to concieve”

  1. Kathryn February 1, 2013 at 8:46 am #

    *sigh* I hate that you have to spend so much on this, it just adds to the stress of it all. When I’m sure you’d rather be spending that money on the hospital birth bill or getting the things you need for the child. I hope you don’t have to rack up too much bigger of a bill.

    • maretilton February 1, 2013 at 9:22 am #

      I am hoping, and this is really pushing it but I would love to get pregnant and have the baby all in one year because I know we would hit our deductible and then things would be covered… I told Tyler that from the beginning, one shot, one year lol

    • maretilton February 1, 2013 at 10:13 am #

      Actually I should add the $700 of maternity clothes that I bought over the summer… hopefully they are still in style if and when we get pregnant.

  2. Mittenguy February 1, 2013 at 1:01 pm #

    Yes, it’s hard to think about the financial investment, which can be huge for anyone trying to concieve. We were missing a few parts of the equation (mainly the sperm) and I had a lot of rage that one vial of donor sperm costs between $500-$700 depending on the bank, motility, etc. Because we were working with a clinic it cost us about 2,000 per month to try to get pregnant. Thankfully we got pregnant the second month, but still ended up spending about $5,000.

    • maretilton February 1, 2013 at 1:46 pm #

      Oh I know this is nothing compared to the costs of others… Its amazing how much it can cost to actually have the baby let alone raise a baby

      • Mittenguy February 2, 2013 at 9:50 am #

        yeah, but you’re right…. even small things like OPKs add up over time!

  3. fromheretomotherhood February 1, 2013 at 1:16 pm #

    I didn’t keep track of how many OPKs, pregnancy tests, tubes of Preseed, bottle of Chinese Herbs, or vitamins I have used, but I wish I had for posterity’s sake. The grand total would definitely sadden and probably shock me. I paid 85 per acupuncture session, but luckily those were all reimbursed. Of course what I have paid doesn’t even compare to what we’re about to pay, but it’s still so frustrating that it’s already cost SO much!

  4. fromheretomotherhood February 1, 2013 at 1:17 pm #

    BTW how was the appointment?!?!?!

    • fromheretomotherhood February 1, 2013 at 1:17 pm #

      nevermind, didn’t see that you posted. Will read now.

    • maretilton February 1, 2013 at 1:48 pm #

      It was good! Ordered tests for the coming month and I feel comfortable with Jennie. Now, if I only could get a Peak on my fertility monitor life would be okay for the next two weeks. Seriously, if I get a Peak reading, I will just be glad that I did. On the 8th I will go in for a blood test to confirm I am ovulating 🙂

      • fromheretomotherhood February 1, 2013 at 2:13 pm #

        So funny to me that your doctor goes by her first name. I have never had a doctor who did that.

  5. kristenp06 February 1, 2013 at 1:21 pm #

    Here’s hoping you don’t have to go too much farther with medical treatments. We got the statement in September last year of how much we had spent on treatments, tests, blood work, ultrasounds, and everything else you could think of from May of 2011 until September of 2012…Total was $46,000. I have no clue how that happened. Oh, and that doesn’t count the 6 prescriptions/vitamins I take every day. This all sucks.

    • maretilton February 1, 2013 at 1:59 pm #

      HOLY CRAP!!!! How do you afford that?

  6. ThoughtProvokingMoments February 1, 2013 at 3:13 pm #

    It’s a shame that more of this isn’t covered by insurance, but a lot of it can be itemized on your taxes, provided you keep your receipts and meet that lovely threshold to get the deduction. In the past 2 years alone we’ve racked up a little over $80k in IVF, surgeries, & medications, outside of what our insurance DID cover. That still doesn’t even take in to account what we’ve previously spent on treatments and what-nots prior to beginning IVF. I guess they REALLY took the literal route when saying “having a baby is expensive!” 😦 Like Kristin said, I really hope you don’t have to go much further……This entire process can be a bit much. *Hugs!*

  7. SM February 1, 2013 at 5:36 pm #

    I don’t even want to think about the cost of it all! By the time we’re done with the foster adoption we’ll have to add another $5000 to the staggering amount of pills, OPKs, HPTs, appointments, etc. That’s all to just get a kid. Then you have to pay for the kid. Kids aren’t cheap. The last figure I saw was you’ll spend roughly $100,000 between birth and 18 years. That’s a lot of damn money. But it’s worth it right?!

Leave a Reply

Siptemberfest

Friday, Sept 22, Saturday, Sept. 23 & Sunday Sept 24, 2017

Obscure Vermont

Weirdness, Esoterica and Forsaken Places in and around Vermont

Our Little Geekling

One geeky couple's long road to parenthood

