Fertility monitor

13 Jan

I did it. I broke down and ordered a clear blue easy (does anyone think of easy breezy covergirl when they think of clear blue easy?).

Since my temperature dropped this morning and my period is due Tuesday or any where in between now and Friday, I thought I would just do it.

I know Sarah said to wait and see what the doctor said but I have a horrible feeling we will get sent home with a pat on our backs with the same old same old “just keep trying and come back in a year”. Of course I am going to send my charts from April 2012 to now in hopes that maybe we are close enough to a year especially with the ectopic to get some testing done. But if not, I’m depending on this baby.

I have noticed that people do the monitor and the OPKs together. Should I do this, especially since for OPKs a day didn’t yield a positive for me this past month? Am I wasting my money, because it was $200 with the sticks. And I’m sorry, you sell the kit without any sticks, that’s just crazy fucking shit right there.

I’m interested to hear your thoughts. Also what kind of questions does the thing ask you?

12 Responses to “Fertility monitor”

  1. Mrs. Wuestewald January 13, 2013 at 3:50 pm #

    If your not getting positives on your OPKs you should tell that to the dr., it may show your not ovulating. Can’t wait to see your results with the new monitor I haven’t bought one yet but I have thought about it.

    • maretilton January 13, 2013 at 4:30 pm #

      The doctor is aware of the no positives but I keep hearing horror stories of people being told to wait the year. I have been told to go out of state and ask for testing, apparently my state is strict. I really don’t know how four tests a day could miss my ovulation but my temperatures show that I do ovulate. My plan b if we get shown the door at the appointment is to use the monitor, if I don’t get peak, I will literally become a crazy women, kicking and screaming and crying to see a doctor.

      Blah

  2. SM January 13, 2013 at 6:42 pm #

    Some research says it is possible to have a temp rise and not ovulate. So no positive OPK could still be a sign of no ovulation even with the temp rise. Be sure to mentions that to your doctor when you go. I’m glad you bought a fertility monitor! Hopefully it will help a little!

    • maretilton January 13, 2013 at 6:53 pm #

      I’m reading that could mean I have PCOS.

      I’m going to stop googling now.

      • SM January 13, 2013 at 7:12 pm #

        Step away from google! Just be sure to mention it and your concerns to the doctor. I’ve got my fingers crossed that he’ll help you out now!

      • maretilton January 13, 2013 at 7:17 pm #

        Too late…. I need a distraction. I feel so hopeless right now, the 30th cannot get here quick enough. Silver lining, if I get my period this week I can drink while my friends from home are here to visit.

  3. iSpytheWorld29 January 13, 2013 at 11:41 pm #

    I’m glad I saw your post as I’ve never heard of the clear blue easy monitor. It sounds like a nifty gadget to have to help with conception. Aunt flow rarely visits me, so I wonder if this monitor will work for those of us with irregular periods. Well, best wishes to you and good luck with the clear blue easy.

    • maretilton January 14, 2013 at 6:07 am #

      I am not sure but I can see what the directions say once I get it on the 15th. I’ll let you know.

    • maretilton January 14, 2013 at 10:26 am #

      Oh see the other comment – I guess you need to be pretty regular or it will just keep running you in circles 😦

      • iSpytheWorld29 January 14, 2013 at 10:14 pm #

        Thanks for checking this for me. I appreciate it. I guess I’ll have to continue to work at getting Aunt Flow to visit so I can use monitors like the clear blue easy. Good luck!

  4. thebabymakingblog January 14, 2013 at 10:02 am #

    I used the Clear Blue Easy monitor for 6 months or so. It worked for my first cycle (got pregnant, miscarried), but then it couldn’t figure out my body. It would have me testing for 20 days in a row some months and say I never ovulated, even though my temperature was showing I did. And it got really expensive. Each pack of 20 test strips was $70!

    When I finally got my appointment at the fertility clinic, my doctor told me the monitor only works effectively for people with consistent cycles, and ideally, a 28-day period. For women who’s cycles vary in length, the monitor can get very confused.

    Not to worry you or bring you down… My sister-in-law concieved both her children with the monitor’s aid so obviously, it works sometimes! Perhaps my body just didn’t mesh well with it…

    I wish you luck! Hopefully your experience with it is better than mine was. But if it starts to go wonky, I’m happy to answer any questions from my experience with it!

    • maretilton January 14, 2013 at 10:28 am #

      I am going to try it because I think my OPKs are just screwy. I am hoping to see a pattern. If not, I just wasted more money on TTC and hopefully the doctor will tell us something. Doing Four OPKs a day is just not working for me, especially with tax season coming up.

Leave a Reply

Siptemberfest

Friday, Sept 22, Saturday, Sept. 23 & Sunday Sept 24, 2017

Obscure Vermont

Weirdness, Esoterica and Forsaken Places in and around Vermont

Our Little Geekling

One geeky couple's long road to parenthood

