Counting Chickens

25 Oct

I mean Blessings… No Really, I am counting my blessing.

I just joined International Comment Leaving Week and stumbled onto some new bloggers that are on their own TTC journey. As I read blog after blog, story about IVF round 3, Chemical Pregnancy 4, Miscarriage 3 for 2012… I realized that I am just a girl bitching about shit that I shouldn’t. Seriously.

Ty and I are new to this TTC world. Granted, even though my mom considers us infertile since we havent popped a kid out after the Ectopic pregnancy in 2010 and we have not been using birth control (what do you call people using the Rhythm method? Parents… well yeah, not us), we are still considered fertile. Even though Kristen told us to come back in Jan 2013 opposed to August 2013… We still are pretty lucky.

We have been trying for 4 months. Actively trying… Well, Tyler and I have been actively trying for 4 months. I, on the other hand, was trying to get pregnant for about 6-7 months. I figured that if I got pregnant in April/May, I would still look okay in my wedding dress. But that didn’t happen. I am sure that Ty was aware of this because he would tell me after sex “You are so trying to make me a baby daddy”. But nothing happened. Of course, it was not until August that we started to really TRY. Using Kits, Researching methods, Using the Calendar. But it does not compare to some of the stories that I have read from other women.

I know I can be dramatic and I know that I can be alittle “the world revolves around me” but after reading story after story about gut wrenching month after month of trying, I am counting my blessings. As Ty and Scott (my Acupuncturist) said, “We know you can get pregnant”. So that’s a plus one for me… its the getting there and probably the keeping it that will be the issue.

Even though we suffered one miscarriage, and it was devastating, it does not compare to the women that go through monthly doses, injections, doctors appointment after doctors appointment.

I guess the sad part is that many of these women suffer month after month alone, even though they have their partners and close family/friends… you still feel alone. Or at least I do. Each day can seem like a year… Each week seems like a century and waiting for a test can seem like you are walking the plank…

So, I guess the point of this post is that I am thankful for the people around me, our future, and where our past has taken us.

3 Responses to “Counting Chickens”

  1. Katie Crowley October 25, 2012 at 8:24 am #

    Perfectly said…but you can still totally be all about you, I fully enjoy it 😉

  2. Kathryn October 25, 2012 at 8:52 am #

    I want that kitten… I NEED that kitten.

  3. Mrs. Wuestewald October 29, 2012 at 5:03 pm #

    Each journey is its own so i say its your blog and so it can be all about you! P.S i have new kitty who might be fitting this description!

Leave a Reply

Siptemberfest

Friday, Sept 22, Saturday, Sept. 23 & Sunday Sept 24, 2017

Obscure Vermont

Weirdness, Esoterica and Forsaken Places in and around Vermont

Our Little Geekling

One geeky couple's long road to parenthood

