Positive Test – Not So Fast

2 Oct

Even when Tyler and I get a positive test it’s not going to be a cause for celebration.

Being Ectopic previously, I have to get a blood test (well several, most likely two in a 48/72 hour time span) to confirm that the pregnancy is viable. If my hcg levels do not double within 48/72 hours there could be cause for alarm. Of course this means that I get to drive my ass down to Fanny Allen… do the intake with a very lovely person and then march over to the Phlebotomist and give blood.

Do you know that a Phlebotomist usually only makes up to $18.00 MAX! I think thats crazy considering you are jamming a needle into a persons arm… its kinda a big deal and they deserve more. Trust me, after having weekly blood tests for a month and a half, the good phlebotomist seriously deserve a cookie and a kiss after drawing blood and the bad ones deserve to be sent back to school ASAP.

So even with a positive pregnancy test, Ty and I are not out of the woods yet. Of course, we will be excited and over the moon but wait until we get that phone call with my levels to truly celebrate.  A women is considered 4 weeks pregnant as of the day her period was supposed to start. OF COURSE, everyone makes mistakes and can mis-pinpoint ovulation or implantation so you gotta give the doctor some leeway when calculating the due date.  Below is a quick guide on HCG levels early on.

  • 3 weeks LMP: 5 – 50 mIU/ml
  • 4 weeks LMP: 5 – 426 mIU/ml
  • 5 weeks LMP: 18 – 7,340 mIU/ml
  • 6 weeks LMP: 1,080 – 56,500 mIU/ml

When I was ectopic and probably about 5-6 weeks along, my levels were at 148 when I was first tested then up to 160+, then down to 152, then back up to 168… That’s when we knew something was not right. The rise and fall is a big nono… When I first started to read about where my levels should be, I FREAKED. I mean FREAKED THE FUCK OUT because all I could see was the extremely high number opposed to the spread – and everyone is different. It could have been the opposite and I was pregnant with Twins and my levels could have been SKY HIGH and still Freaking the Fuck Out. Once it was determined that I was Ectopic, I got blood tests every Tuesday at 10:00am until my level was under 5. There were weeks were it was 18, then 12, then 10, then 9, then 7, then 6… TALK ABOUT SO READY TO MOVE FORWARD BUT COULDNT.

I try to remind myself that a positive test does not mean a positive pregnancy. But how can you not think that? I mean all your hopes and dreams and future plans are starting to come together. You cant ignore the test but you also cannot go waving it around in peoples faces. I think when we get a positive test, I will tell Sarah (of course), LM and my Mom. Until we get a positive blood test, no one else… Then we will think about telling Ty’s Parents but history has proved that to be a bad idea… although, maybe they will understand us not wanting them to share with anyone.

Until that day – Baby Dust – Positive Tests – Fingers Crossed – Blessings

Here is a funny –

photo.jpg

Leave a Reply

Siptemberfest

Friday, Sept 22, Saturday, Sept. 23 & Sunday Sept 24, 2017

Obscure Vermont

Weirdness, Esoterica and Forsaken Places in and around Vermont

Our Little Geekling

One geeky couple's long road to parenthood

