The Downside of Pregnancy?

24 Aug

I will be head over heels if and when we get pregnant. Seriously. I already have planned about a billion things that need to happen in those 9 months and I will be excited. Thrilled. Speechless. In Love. Happy… EXCEPT…

Last time I got pregnant I had two slightly less appealing symptoms.

1. Constipation

2. Pregnancy Brain

Now Constipation and I are not friends. I swear. I LOVE TO POOP. I hole up in the bathroom, get my iphone or magazine and just squat on down. I settle in for the next couple of minutes. I enjoy (I do have the usual interruptions, Wilson likes to come in and give me Licks. Jeff likes to give me nuzzles). That is my me time. Normally daily – if not, every other day. When I was pregnant in 2010, I could not poop. AT ALL. NEVER. I missed out on alot of funny cat videos.

Also as a side note on Pooping – Ever since I have started Yoga, I have pooped every damn day. Like Clock work, around 5:30ish. Its great. I never really thought that when the Yoga Lady on the TV said “Twists are great for digestion” she really meant it. That lady knows what she is talking about! Try it, you will be amazed!

Pregnancy Brain –

Oh my gosh, I had the worst case of it. And the Worst case of the Droppsies! My Brain works like most other women’s… we can tell you what we were wearing during our first slow dance EVER. We can tell you how many pairs of socks you have left on the living room floor in the last two months. We can tell you what star is on the verge of breaking up. We can tell you how many time Brooks Affirmed Vicki on the Real Housewives. I am able to remember most events. I am a pop culture treasure trove of useless knowledge. When I was pregnant, my brain fired into a fog of nothing. I could be driving and not remember how to get somewhere even though I had driven that road 100 times. I also couldn’t tell you what I ate for dinner, what move we watched… pop culture, you are lucky I could remember that Dawson’s Creek was no longer on the air. I usually compare my brain to a Rolodex to give you an idea of how it works. I literally spin through it to find the answer. That Rolodex disappeared when I was pregnant. Literally, gone. Just a big open field of fog.

As for the Droppsies – Holy Crap, my hands just did not work. They were like rubber/butter/not useful. I could be carrying a bowl, and just drop it. No reason. Just felt like my hands didnt want to carry anymore. It was the oddest thing.

I am hoping, HOPING HARD for a pregnancy, and Hoping that should these symptoms return that they only last for part of the pregnancy… because if not I may be in trouble (Especially winning any arguments with my husband)…

Did you experience any symptoms that were less desirable during pregnancy? Don’t get me wrong, I am not complaining but you are allowed to vent alittle when you have a little person invading your body space πŸ™‚

2 Responses to “The Downside of Pregnancy?”

  1. Katie C August 24, 2012 at 2:50 pm #

    Ohhh the baby brain
    Here are a couple of mine

    1. Wearing slippers to work
    2. Only putting eyeliner on one eye, finding out at work
    3. Putting everything in the frig, dog food, mail, etc
    4 . Going into a bank, giving my ss # and asking for a withdrawal slip, come to find out I was at the wrong bank, apparently one I didn’t even have a account at πŸ˜‰

    • maretilton September 2, 2012 at 11:47 am #

      I aspire to wear my slippers to work. Maybe even PJ bottoms… or no bottoms at all and blame it on pregnancy brain. They couldnt fire me right??? πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

Siptemberfest

Friday, Sept 22, Saturday, Sept. 23 & Sunday Sept 24, 2017

Obscure Vermont

Weirdness, Esoterica and Forsaken Places in and around Vermont

Our Little Geekling

One geeky couple's long road to parenthood

