Why I do not read TTC Forums or Message Boards

14 Aug

Because

 

a. people are way crazier than I am.

b. I have no idea what the acronyms mean half the time… SD (As in an SD Card? As In Spotted Dick the Delicacy? OHHH Sperm Donor, gotcha).

c. they make me crazy.

 

I updated my Period Tracker App and it came with a new forum and group feature. Now a good friend of mine about 3 months ago said whatever you do… when you sign up for Babycenter.com, search only expert answered questions or topics. I asked her why and she replied because you will drive yourself insane. She said that she read the forums and joined a mommy to be birthing group for the month her daughter was to be born (Her daughter is a bundle of hair, its the cutest thing EVER). She said she had to stop because there was so much competition, people getting upset with people when their mentioned miscarrying and just general overall cattiness.

 

I have done pretty good up until my newest version of the Period Tracker App. So this morning, after taking another ovulation test and getting a damn negative result… I go to mark that in my tracker and just start to fumble around on the forums. HOLY SHIT. I probably could have had a panic attack!

 

Literally I went to the dentist and he told me that in the last three months I have clenched my teeth so much so that I have taken the enamel off my own teeth. So there is another $1000 dental bill that I have to deal with (But not until I know if I am pregnant this month or not. My dentist will not do dental work on Pregnant Ladies, he said its just better that way).

 

Between reading about people who have been trying to conceive for 7 years… to people who are unsure if they are pregnant or not and wont go to the doctors for a blood test, I was about to rip my hair out.

 

Now I know we all need a sounding board, this is why I am writing here but holy fucking shit (excuse my language) but I could not take it. It was overload. I feel horrible for the couple that is trying for 7 years with no luck to get pregnant. But then I wonder will that be us? then I wonder if I am pregnant because I have all the symptoms but I know its way too early to register on a damn at home test but still I peed on a stick today. I literally sat on that toilet and thought I am pissing money away. It was negative. I am not even ovulating yet so why would I do that? Because the forums made me do it. I swear. Its like REDRUM…. TAKE THE DAMN TEST, I Swear.

 

I know that is mean, I know that people need help and have questions and need answers and that talking about things help people process them but in this instance, I need to stay away.

 

I actually even have thought so far as to decide not to join a mommy to be club on these said forums. I dont want to compete with anyone, I dont want to commiserate with anyone that I dont know. Not right now. I just cant. I also dont want to be the last one to push one out or the only one that has horrible labor or whatever. I am good being my own group of one.

 

I am going to go back to my sheltered, do not read the forums suggestion. And Let things happen without the internet.

2 Responses to “Why I do not read TTC Forums or Message Boards”

  1. Kathryn August 14, 2012 at 4:38 pm #

    YIKES! That sounds insane. I think the blog world is way better šŸ™‚ You are free to rant and rave and write whatever you want on your blog. People can subscribe or unsubscribe… read a post or not. And there are lots of women out here that are supportive. I’ve found it to be pretty awesome. So YAY for you having a blog. Sorry that you have all the worry šŸ˜¦ Wishing a wonderful ovulation for you! heheheh

    • maretilton August 15, 2012 at 4:01 pm #

      I love your blog! LOVE LOVE LOVE! And thank you for the well wishes – still waiting on that but the little lines on the tests are starting to match which is apparently a good thing. So many tests to pee on… so little time. Just Kidding

Leave a Reply

Siptemberfest

Friday, Sept 22, Saturday, Sept. 23 & Sunday Sept 24, 2017

Obscure Vermont

Weirdness, Esoterica and Forsaken Places in and around Vermont

Our Little Geekling

One geeky couple's long road to parenthood

